Where Promises Die by R.C. Stephens

Title: Where Promises Die
Author: R.C. Stephens
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: February 20, 2017
Haunted by a childhood trauma that leaves her orphaned, eleven-year-old Grace finds herself on the doorstep of the Duncans, her new adoptive family, broken and unable to speak. Catapulted from a bustling New York City life, she must find a way to call the rural town of Sade, Iowa her new home. Twins Eisav and Jacob Duncan immediately take a liking to Grace, wanting to erase the dark shadows etched on her perfect features.

As the twins vie for her affection, it becomes clear which one makes her smile.

Grace never has a choice for falling in love.

What starts as a way to coax his adopted sister to speak and smile, blossoms into the kind of love that lasts a lifetime.

In this small town it shouldn’t be a crime to fall in love . . . 

Isaac Duncan warns his son to stay away from the forbidden fruit. Eisav never listens. 

Now an intricate web of lies and secrets stand in the way of Eisav winning back the only woman he has ever loved.

In a place where yesterday’s promises were broken, Eisav must learn what it truly means to love and cherish . . .

But is he too late?


What a beautiful story of love and hope that will take you through a roller coaster of emotions. Where Promises Die by R.C. Stephens is so full of angst, you will feel it in your soul. I was literally held captive by this story. Drawn in and terrified at the same time.

Grace finds herself plucked from everything she knows after being orphaned and dropped in the middle of nowhere Iowa. Now she must find a way to fit in a rural and religious town after the tragic loss she suffers. Taken in by the Duncan’s, her world has turned upside down in an instant.

Eisav Duncan has always been the black sheep of the family. He finds it very hard to conform to what is expected of him. Always compared to his twin brother, Jacob, he finds a kindred spirit in Grace when she comes to live with them. But his father warns his sons to stay away from her, however, it is the last thing Eisav wants.

Eisav and Grace find a connection early on. In Eisav she finds someone she can trust in and who slowly brings in the sun again. Eisav is simply taken by Grace. She understands him in a way his family never has and accepts him for who he is. As they spend time together, feelings emerge. But soon obstacles begin to develop that may not be easy to overcome.

But Eisav struggles with the expectations and demands that are placed on him by his very religious family and specifically his father. When things begin to get complicated and difficult, Eisav makes a decision that will alter their lives and hurt the woman he loves. Can he win her back and show her what she truly means to him?

I found this story to be heartbreakingly beautiful. So many secrets and lies impact not only the main characters, but the family as well, that no one is left untouched. The struggles endured would easily break some, but Eisav and Grace have a love that just may conquer all. A stunning story that will consume you.

Where Promises Die by R.C. Stephens was an emotional and stunning 5-star read for me!

R.C. Stephens was born in Toronto, Canada. She graduated from York University with a Master’s Degree in Political Science.

Her debut Novel Bitter Sweet Love is book one of the Twisted Series. Followed by Twisted Love to be released May 31st 2015.

R.C. is an avid reader, so when she isn’t cooking for her clan or on her laptop writing, she’s snuggled tight with her Kindle devouring any romance novel she can. Okay, with the exception of Thursday nights. She makes time for Scandal and Vampire Diaries. She’s a fan of drama and suspense but she’s also a sucker for a happy ending.

Her husband was her first teenage love. They live together with their three children in Toronto. Loving Canadian winters she could never think of living anywhere else.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

, PHPlist